About Us

The International Association of Women in Radio & Television, India

The vision of IAWRT Chapter India is to enable perspective building on issues faced by women media practitioners, while keeping a sharp focus on the changing media landscape, and work towards creating a space where women media practitioners can work without bias, discrimination or abuse.

What we do

The Jai Chandiram Memorial Fellowship
The Jai Chandiram Memorial Fellowship

Instituted in the memory of Jai Chandiram by her family, the Jai Chandiram Memorial Fellowship is awarded bi-annually and supports media and research projects by members of the IAWRT India Chapter. Jai Chandiram was a distinguished media professional and former Deputy Director General (DDG) of Doordarshan. She was the founding member and Managing Trustee of IAWRT India Chapter and the first Asian to be the President of IAWRT International.

JCMF 2020 has been awarded to the project, THE GIRLS’ HOSTEL, FTII proposed collaboratively by IAWRT members Bina Paul, Reena Mohan and Surabhi Sharma. The project is part online archive and database, and part travelling exhibition, based on “a collective untold memory of the history of women’s contribution to Indian Cinema and the experiences of working in a male dominated field.”

The previous Jai Chandiram Memorial Fellowships were awarded to filmmakers, Iram Ghufran, Debjani Mukherjee and Madhumanti Sengupta.


The 2021 edition of the Asian Women's Film Festival will be held online from 5-7 March 2021, with a curation of film screenings, conversations and master classes.

The festival team consists of Deepti Khurana as the Festival Director, Surbhi Goel as Associate Festival Director, and Smriti Nevatia and Nina Sabnani as curators.


Something in the Air
Conversations With Indian Women In Television and Radio

IAWRT is pleased to announce a 6-part conversation series with women who shaped India’s media landscape in diverse ways – as part of national broadcasters Doordarshan and All India Radio or community media like Khabar Lahariya, Video Sewa and Deccan Development Society, as news anchors, TV and radio producers. Curated by IAWRT members Shikha Jhingan and Paromita Vohra, the first episode of the series was held on Jan 25th, 2021 as a conversation with two pioneering women of broadcast television of the 1970s: Salma Sultan and Manju Singh, that was moderated by Paromita Vohra, filmmaker and writer and IAWRT Board member.

Announcing the First IAWRT-Shaw Fellowship


We are happy to announce that Anukriti Lal and Ghania Siddique, students at  the Film and Television Institute of India, Pune, have been awarded the first IAWRT-Shaw Fellowship 2022.

The IAWRT-Shaw Memorial Fellowship is a bi-annual fellowship, instituted by our member, Padmaja Shaw, in the name of her late husband Rajendra Shaw. Rajendra Shaw (1949-2013) graduated from FTII Pune in 1975 and worked his entire professional life in social communication sector, developing support materials, teaching and training people in visual and text documentation. He also mentored young people in photography, and textual documentation, videography and video-editing. The fellowship is instituted in his memory and seeks to increase the representation of Dalit/Adivasi/Minority women in the media.


Anukriti Lal is from Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh. After graduating from NIFT Kolkata, she worked as a content writer for two years. In order to follow her passion for cinema and writing, she applied to FTII, Pune and was selected for the Masters programme in Screenplay. Anukriti would like to use the fellowship to fund her fees at FTII to continue her studies, enabling her to write stories about her Dalit community, particularly women in the community who have inspired her a lot.




Ghania Siddique completed her Masters in Mass Communication, from AJK MCRC New Delhi, and has a Bachelors Honour degree in Political Science from Lady Shri Ram College for Women, Delhi University. She is currently pursuing Electronic Cinematography at FTII. Besides Film and Media, she has also actively practised theatre and music. She plans to use the fellowship to buy a lens for her camera kit and to contribute towards the fee paid for the FTII course.



Congratulations, Anukriti and Ghania!


Reena Mohan elected to IAWRT International Board
Reena Mohan elected to IAWRT International Board

Reena has been a member of IAWRT since 2009. She was the Co-Director of the IAWRT Asian Women’s Film Festival, New Delhi, from 2010 to 2012 and the Managing Trustee of the India Chapter from 2012 to 2015.
Under her leadership, the festival grew to a much-awaited calendar event in India and brought women filmmakers from diverse countries to interact with members of the India chapter, opening up new ideas and possibilities of collaboration. She also helped launch the annual Herat International Women’s Film Festival in Afghanistan.

She has mentored younger members in IAWRT India and constantly demonstrated her commitment to the idea of women’s collectives.

IAWRT members as Jury/ guest
IAWRT members as Jury/ guest

Ananya Chakraborty represented IAWRT India as a jury member at the Herat International Women’s Film Festival, Afghanistan, in September 2019. This marks the India chapter's continuing efforts towards collaborations in the South Asian region.

Nupur Basu represented IAWRT at the iconic women-only film festival, the Flying Broom Festival in Ankara, Turkey in 2019, and showcased a segment of curated films from the Asian Women’s Film Festival along with Velvet Revolution, the IAWRT long doc.


Velvet Revolution
(Executive Producer: Nupur Basu)
A 57 minute Film, Velvet Revolution is the 2016-17 IAWRT long documentary project. In this exciting collaborative film six women directors take their lens up close to women making news in a world riven with conflict and dictatorial regimes. When journalists are constantly under threat, what drives these women to do their jobs?
Velvet Revolution is a unique collaborative venture supported by IAWRT where the Executive Producer, Nupur Basu, worked with women directors from four countries who produced films in five countries. They are Illang Illang Quijano - Philippines; Deepika Sharma - India; Pochi Tamba Nsoh and Sidonie Pongmoni - Cameroon and Eva Brownstein - USA / Bangladesh.

Become a Member!

OR Leave us a message